Runner of the Year Series Begins March 19th



Article Contributed by
Chautauqua Striders, Inc.

Chautauqua Striders 2016 Runner of the Year Series, sponsored by the WCA Center For Orthopedics, Sports Medicine & Rehabilitation is set to begin on Saturday, March 19th with the St. Pat’s Dash in Jamestown. Registration information for the Dash can be found at The series is a year-long running competition to determine the area’s top distance runners. During the year, runners accumulate points in selected area races. For 2016, the selected races are shown above.
There are separate divisions for males and females who compete for overall and age-group titles. Runners need not take any action to be entered into the Runner of the Year Series as all runners in each race are automatically eligible upon registering for each race.

For the overall competition, runners placing in the top ten of any of the selected races will be awarded points as follows: 10 points for first place, 9 for second, 8 for third, etc down to one point for tenth place.
For the age-group competition, points will be awarded as follows: 3 points for a first place finish in the age-group, 2 points for a second place finish, and one point for a third place finish. Age-groups are as follows: 15-19, 20-24, 25-29, 30-34, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49, 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74 and 75 and over. Runners will be placed in age-group categories based upon their age on December 31, 2016.

In each category, the runner with the most points at the end of the year will be crowned “Runner of the Year.” The Runner of the Year awards will be distributed at the Chautauqua Striders Annual Awards Banquet held in March 2017. Awards will be given to the overall male runner of the year, the overall female runner of the year, and runners placing in the top three of their age-group category. No runner will be eligible for an age-group award unless he or she received an age-group award unless he or she received an age-group point in at least two Runner of the Year Series races. There will be no duplication of awards.