Roger Tory Peterson Institute Announces Access Program for Low-Income Families


Museums for All to Increase Accessibility of High-Quality Museum Experiences

Article Contributed by
Roger Tory Peterson Institute

Today the Roger Tory Peterson Institute announced that it has joined Museums for All, a signature program of the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), administered by the Association of Children’s Museums (ACM). The Museums for All program was created to encourage people of all backgrounds to visit museums regularly and build lifelong museum-going habits. The program supports those receiving food assistance (SNAP) benefits who want to visit RTPI by providing free admission for up to four people, with the presentation of a SNAP Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card or a WIC card. Museums for All is part of RTPI’s broad commitment to seek, include, and welcome all audiences.

“This program is a great addition to our Pay-what-you-will Sundays,” stated RTPI’s CEO Arthur Pearson. “Being part of Museums for All is something we can do to make RTPI more accessible to more people in our community.”

Starting Saturday, November 12, up to four individuals can visit RTPI free of charge during regular hours any day the museum is open as long as one individual presents a valid SNAP EBT card or WIC card and a photo ID. Events, classes, and workshops are not included for free.

“We hope that members of our local community, as well as individuals and families from throughout Western New York and Northwestern Pennsylvania will take advantage of this program and come see each exhibition we offer,” stated Maria Ferguson, RTPI’s Collections Curator.

Museums for All helps expand access to museums and also raise public awareness about how museums in the U.S. are reaching their entire communities. More than 850 institutions participate in the initiative, including art museums, children’s museums, science centers, botanical gardens, zoos, history museums, and more. Participating museums are located nationwide, representing all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. Virgin Islands.