Chautauqua County Board of Elections Announces Absentee Opening

Article Contributed by
Chautauqua County Board of Elections

The Chautauqua County Board of Elections will be opening Absentee ballots on Tuesday, June 29th at 11am. ”The differences from Election Day totals are significant, no candidate has the opportunity of overcoming the deficit of their opponent”, said Commissioner Luz E. Torres

As of June 25th, the Board of Elections has received 144 ballots out of 241 mailed out for the Primary Election as follows:

  • County Legislator District 4 – 21
  • County Legislator District 18 – 12
  • Dunkirk City Council Ward 1 – 106
  • Carroll Town Supervisor – 6
  • Ripley Town Council – 4
  • Arkwright Town Highway Superintendent (Vacancy) – 0

The last day for absentee ballots to be delivered in person was Tuesday, June 22nd or they must have been postmarked by election day and be received at the Board of Elections no later than June 29th.

“Per New York State Election Law, the Board of Elections counts absentee ballots and adds them to the totals after every election”, said Commissioner Brian C. Abram.