Boys & Girls Club Recognizes Board Members


B&GC BOARD AWARDSThe Winifred Crawford Dibert Boys & Girls Club of Jamestown recently held its annual dinner and awards program, recognizing board members and officers for their dedication and service to youth.

Board President Rex McCray expressed appreciation for the commitment of time and effort contributed by the entire board serving on committees, fund raisers and in particular with the Club’s 75th Anniversary celebrated throughout 2014.

United Way Executive Director Tory Irgang commended the Club board and staff for their dedication to providing essential services for youth and families in our community, and for the organization’s 75 years of rich history.
Board officers continuing terms of service in 2015 include President Rex McCray, Vice President Douglas Nelson, Treasurer Edith Bensink and Assistant Treasurer Gary Loll. Christine Melice was recognized and thanked for completion of two terms of service as Club Secretary, and will continue to serve on the board.

Lori McGowan and Gary Loll, each received the Exceptional Service to Youth Award, the local Club’s highest honor presented to a board member each year.

President Rex McCray noted that “There was no question that both of these individuals were deserving of this special recognition for 2014. Their efforts, while often in the background and in very different ways, produce incredible results in fund raising and special projects, all to benefit the kids we serve at the Club.”

Mrs. McGowan is a child and adolescent psychiatric clinical nurse specialist with Jamestown Pediatric Associates and Mr. Loll is a retired IBM software engineer.

Kristine Brombacher and Rhonda Johnson, each former board members with the organization, were introduced as accepting new terms of service in 2015. In addition to the officers and honorees noted above, board members continuing to serve with the organization are Ronald Basile, Kenneth Brown, Bruce Dudgeon, Carrie Edwards, Richard Farrell, Mark Nelson, JoAnne Ottoson, Tammy Piazza, Timothy Piazza, and Susan Stancombe