Athletes to be Honored at CSHOF Banquet


Article Contributed by
Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame

The Board of Directors of the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame is proud to announce eight outstanding county athletes will be honored at its 42th annual Induction Banquet, February 19, at the Lakewood Rod & Gun Club, in addition to the enshrinement of its Class of 2024 inductees.

First to be recognized will be the 3 high school football players from Clymer-Sherman-Panama, who were chosen as First Team All-New York State Class D by the New York State Sportswriters Association – Tate Catanese, Bryce Hinsdale and Grant Lictus.

Next to be honored will be Joanne Meadows, coach of the New York State Class D Volleyball Champions from Chautauqua Lake Central, and two of her players, Brynn Engdahl and Ava Olson, who were chosen as First Team All-New York State Class D performers.

Lauren Cotter, from the Southwestern Trojans Volleyball Team, will be recognized as being a First Team All-New York State Class B Player.

Finally, Elizabeth Pucci-Schaefer from Fredonia Central, will be honored as an AAU All-American Diver.

Members of the CSHOF Class of 2024 who will be enshrined that evening will be Karen Bakewell, Daniel Bryner, Cheryl Burns, Tom D’Angelo, Doug Kaltenbach, Rod Maloy, Carlene Sluberski, Karen Tellinghuisen and Judy Young.

Tickets to the banquet are available at the CSHOF, 15 W. Third St., Jamestown; at the Jock Shop, 10 Harrison St., Jamestown; at Matt’s News 93 E. 3rd St., Dunkirk; by calling banquet chairman Chip Johnson at 716-485-6991; or online at